Warning: strip_tags() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in /homepages/3/d137214294/htdocs/mm/wp-includes/formatting.php on line 631

Voting for the MEP’s elections have started at 7am on Saturday. The Maltese electorate has to elect six Members who will join the rest of the parliament composed of 766 members. 74.81% of the Electorate cast their vote, in 2009 the turnout had been of 79.81% almost 4% higher, the Electorate Commission said.

By 2pm 34% of the electorate had already cast their vote.

The country’s leaders have already started to vote with Archbishop Paul Cremona casting his vote in Attard, Prime Minister Joseph Muscat in Burmarrad and President Marie Louise Coleiro Preca and Opposition leader Simon Busuttil in Lija and AD chairman Arnold Cassola in Sliema.

The Electoral Commission said that 21,856 voting documents remained uncollected, 6.3 per cent of the registered voters.

Voting ends at 10pm.

    Netvibes ShareFacebookTwitterDiggStumbleUponDeliciousBlogger PostYahoo MailAOL MailHotmailGmailGoogle BookmarksMySpaceShare/Bookmark

Related Articles: